Your Boarding Source

Full Version: Rome Solution Review
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I realize that since I've ridden many years of rentals and my Solution only once, I may not be the most qualified to give a very detailed review for you advanced riders out there. But in any event, this is what I've gathered in one day of slushy, 60 degree riding in the Poconos...

I love this board. Riding rentals and then riding this was like night and day. That's obvious, right? Not so much for me...at first. Since I've been boarding once a year for about 6 years (even skipped a yearor two maybe), the rentals were always pretty easy to ride, even with long periods of time between my boarding trips. And since I always listed myself as a "beginner", they always gave me shorter boards, making it even easier. Although easy to carve with, anytime I would gain speed, the board would start to shake under my feet...not really instilling confidence in me. When there was ice, the board would skid and skid until finally hitting normal snow. In terms of snowboarding experience, that is all I know.

And then I rode my new Rome Solution. At first I was on the bunny slope, teaching my gf how to board. My first time down, at once I felt the difference. It wasn't as easy to turn, even on the bunny hill. Each turn felt like a chore. What was once a subtle shift to my heelside was not a forced jerk onto my heel. It almost felt like I was regressing...feeling uneasy doing my turns, unsure of where the board was going. To be honest I was a little worried. Did I spend all this money on a setup just to feel like a beginner again? Fortunately for me, I was able to get used to the board after a couple runs and was carving with ease in no time.