Your Boarding Source
Problem mounting Ride bindings on Burton board - Printable Version

+- Your Boarding Source (http://www.snowboarding2.com)
+-- Forum: Another World (http://www.snowboarding2.com/forum-5.html)
+--- Forum: General (http://www.snowboarding2.com/forum-29.html)
+--- Thread: Problem mounting Ride bindings on Burton board (/thread-4579.html)



Problem mounting Ride bindings on Burton board - Bob F - 01-14-2008

I just got a used Burton Canyon. Trying to mount my Ride SPi bindings on it, I
discovered that the hole spacing is not compatable with the holes on the Ride
bindings. The Ride board has two rows of 4 holes, the Burton has two rows of 2
holes, and 4 center holes. Unfortunately, the spacing between the holes are
slightly more than on the Burton board than the Holes on the bindings. Is it
possible to get a plate for the ride bindings to fit the Burton board, or is
there some other solution, other than new bindings?

Bob F





Problem mounting Ride bindings on Burton board - helibrdr - 01-14-2008


"Bob F" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected][color=blue]
>I just got a used Burton Canyon. Trying to mount my Ride SPi bindings on
>it, I discovered that the hole spacing is not compatable with the holes on
>the Ride bindings. The Ride board has two rows of 4 holes, the Burton has
>two rows of 2 holes, and 4 center holes. Unfortunately, the spacing between
>the holes are slightly more than on the Burton board than the Holes on the
>bindings. Is it possible to get a plate for the ride bindings to fit the
>Burton board, or is there some other solution, other than new bindings?
>
> Bob F
>[/color]

Burton uses a 3 hole pattern while most others use a 4 hole. According to
Rides web page - go to Support, FAQ, and then 3 hole bindings they say that
their mounting discs are compatible with the 3 hole pattern as well. Here is
a link to the PDF file. [url]http://www.ridesnowboards.com/support/ride_disc.pdf[/url]

Good luck!






Problem mounting Ride bindings on Burton board - Bob F - 01-14-2008


"helibrdr" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected][color=blue]
>
> "Bob F" <[email protected]> wrote in message
> news:[email protected][color=green]
>>I just got a used Burton Canyon. Trying to mount my Ride SPi bindings on it, I
>>discovered that the hole spacing is not compatable with the holes on the Ride
>>bindings. The Ride board has two rows of 4 holes, the Burton has two rows of 2
>>holes, and 4 center holes. Unfortunately, the spacing between the holes are
>>slightly more than on the Burton board than the Holes on the bindings. Is it
>>possible to get a plate for the ride bindings to fit the Burton board, or is
>>there some other solution, other than new bindings?
>>
>> Bob F
>>[/color]
>
> Burton uses a 3 hole pattern while most others use a 4 hole. According to
> Rides web page - go to Support, FAQ, and then 3 hole bindings they say that
> their mounting discs are compatible with the 3 hole pattern as well. Here is a
> link to the PDF file. [url]http://www.ridesnowboards.com/support/ride_disc.pdf[/url]
>[/color]

These bindings are a few years old. They may have opened up the holes a little
to make them work on newer versions. I did manage to get them to mount by
twistin the plate slightly to get three screws to fit, in a diagonal line, but
would like to improve on that.





Problem mounting Ride bindings on Burton board - helibrdr - 01-14-2008

snip[color=blue][color=green][color=darkred]
>>>[/color]
>>
>> Burton uses a 3 hole pattern while most others use a 4 hole. According to
>> Rides web page - go to Support, FAQ, and then 3 hole bindings they say
>> that their mounting discs are compatible with the 3 hole pattern as well.
>> Here is a link to the PDF file.
>> [url]http://www.ridesnowboards.com/support/ride_disc.pdf[/url]
>>[/color]
>
> These bindings are a few years old. They may have opened up the holes a
> little to make them work on newer versions. I did manage to get them to
> mount by twistin the plate slightly to get three screws to fit, in a
> diagonal line, but would like to improve on that.
>[/color]

I bet if you call the Ride support folks or check with a local shop they
will be able to get you a new pair of discs.





Problem mounting Ride bindings on Burton board - [email protected] - 01-14-2008

On Dec 6, 11:26 am, "Bob F" <[email protected]> wrote:[color=blue]
> "helibrdr" <[email protected]> wrote in message
>
> news:[email protected]
>
>
>
>
>
>
>[color=green]
> > "Bob F" <[email protected]> wrote in message
> >news:[email protected][color=darkred]
> >>I just got a used Burton Canyon. Trying to mount my Ride SPi bindings on it, I
> >>discovered that the hole spacing is not compatable with the holes on the Ride
> >>bindings. The Ride board has two rows of 4 holes, the Burton has two rows of 2
> >>holes, and 4 center holes. Unfortunately, the spacing between the holes are
> >>slightly more than on the Burton board than the Holes on the bindings. Is it
> >>possible to get a plate for the ride bindings to fit the Burton board, or is
> >>there some other solution, other than new bindings?[/color][/color]
>[color=green][color=darkred]
> >> Bob F[/color][/color]
>[color=green]
> > Burton uses a 3 hole pattern while most others use a 4 hole. According to
> > Rides web page - go to Support, FAQ, and then 3 hole bindings they say that
> > their mounting discs are compatible with the 3 hole pattern as well. Here is a
> > link to the PDF file.[url]http://www.ridesnowboards.com/support/ride_disc.pdf[/url][/color]
>
> These bindings are a few years old. They may have opened up the holes a little
> to make them work on newer versions. I did manage to get them to mount by
> twistin the plate slightly to get three screws to fit, in a diagonal line, but
> would like to improve on that.[/color]

Newer Ride bindings (I have 2006 SPi) don't have holes -- they have
two long screw-width slots that allow you to place the screws anywhere
along their length. As was suggested, if you buy new discs you should
be fine.

Joe Ramirez



Problem mounting Ride bindings on Burton board - Bas Mevissen - 01-14-2008

On Thu, 06 Dec 2007 08:26:24 -0800, Bob F wrote:

[color=blue]
> These bindings are a few years old. They may have opened up the holes a
> little to make them work on newer versions. I did manage to get them to
> mount by twistin the plate slightly to get three screws to fit, in a
> diagonal line, but would like to improve on that.[/color]

When I had a Burton board, the bindings were also intented for 4-hole
mounting. But the guy from the show just drilled an extra hole in the
middel of two others. That worked very well and looked good.

Now the same bindings are mounted on a 4 hole board and I had already
forgotten that there was ever drilled in an extra hole!

--
Bas.



Problem mounting Ride bindings on Burton board - [email protected] - 01-14-2008

On Dec 6, 7:00 pm, Bas Mevissen <[email protected]>
wrote:[color=blue]
> On Thu, 06 Dec 2007 08:26:24 -0800, Bob F wrote:[color=green]
> > These bindings are a few years old. They may have opened up the holes a
> > little to make them work on newer versions. I did manage to get them to
> > mount by twistin the plate slightly to get three screws to fit, in a
> > diagonal line, but would like to improve on that.[/color]
>
> When I had a Burton board, the bindings were also intented for 4-hole
> mounting. But the guy from the show just drilled an extra hole in the
> middel of two others. That worked very well and looked good.
>
> Now the same bindings are mounted on a 4 hole board and I had already
> forgotten that there was ever drilled in an extra hole!
>
> --
> Bas.[/color]


The bindings I've seen work with 4 screws on the std board holes used
by most manufacturers and with 3 screws on Burton boards. I've
ridden Burton boards for years with 3 screws holding my Drake bindings
and have had no problems. Most important is making sure the screws
are tightened and stay that way. For that I use a drop of the blue
Loctite for threads, available at any auto parts store, hardware
store, Home Depot, etc.